Thursday, May 24, 2018

Students in gowns prepare to enter Duke ChapelDuke Divinity School celebrated its 92nd Baccalaureate Service on May 12. The Rev. Dr. William Turner Jr., who is retiring this year as James T. and Alice Mead Cleland Professor of the Practice of Preaching, preached at the service. The worship service included the traditional ritual of hooding for degree recipients.

Divinity School Dean Elaine A. Heath selected Turner to preach at the 90-minute service of worship after graduating students made nominations. Video is available below.

The next day, Duke University awarded undergraduate, graduate, and professional degrees during its annual commencement ceremony in Wallace Wade Stadium.

Divinity School awards granted to graduates and others at the Baccalaureate service included the Award for Excellence in Bible, presented to Ethan Taylor, M.T.S. '19 and Allison Ruth Wattenbarger; the Frederick Buechner Writing Award, to Chrisopher Aaron Burner; the Hoyt Hickman Award for Excellence in Liturgics, to Gregory Ervin Milton; and the Jameson Jones Preaching Award, to Katherine Fiorella Guerrero.

Baccalaureate Video