Through a variety of seminars, programs, gatherings, lectures, and other offerings, the Divinity School seeks to help strengthen your faith and leadership by building your knowledge about the church and its practices. Also see our UMC Training & Programs.

Find the time to read, reflect, research, or just relax with Study Leave for Ministry Professionals. Over the span of five to seven days, participants can immerse themselves in learning and renewal through self-directed study, worship and prayer on the Duke University campus.
Neighboring theme logo showing stylized neighborhood design
Monday, October 8, 2018 - 8:00am to Tuesday, October 9, 2018 - 4:30pm
The annual Convocation & Pastors’ School is an intensive two-day conference that offers lectures, worship, and seminars for Christian leaders of all traditions. 
hispanic house graphic
At this retreat, pastors serving Hispanic/Latino communite immerse themselves into the heart of the "Good Shepherd" through praise, worship, and theological reflection.
Through Caminantes, fellow sojourners encounter Christ while practicing and honing skills for ministry among Latinos. Caminantes for pastors meets periodically to practice and hone skills for ministry among Latinos, and there is also a group for students.
Institute participants engage each other on plenary break
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 4:30pm to Friday, June 8, 2018 - 9:00pm
Come expand your theological imagination, grapple with practical problems, and be equipped to continue a journey of reconciliation within a wider community at this annual institute.
Hispanic Preaching Festival
Developed by Duke Divinity School’s Hispanic House of Studies, the Hispanic-Latino/a (H/L) Preaching Initiative provides an opportunity for H/L pastors to receive homiletical training in a peer group format.
a student holds up a glass cross
This program provides robust theological, spiritual, and missional formation to equip lay people to engage in their home, neighborhood, workplace, and community and is led by a team of Duke scholars, community practitioners, and trained spiritual directors.

Upcoming Clergy/Laity Training & Programs Events

Friday, October 19, 2018 - 3:00pm to Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
Monday, October 29, 2018 (All day) to Friday, November 2, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 5, 2018 - 8:00am to Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 10, 2018 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Part of Events Series: Neighborhood Seminary
Monday, November 12, 2018 (All day) to Friday, November 16, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, December 8, 2018 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Part of Events Series: Neighborhood Seminary
Saturday, January 12, 2019 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Part of Events Series: Neighborhood Seminary
Saturday, February 9, 2019 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Part of Events Series: Neighborhood Seminary
Saturday, March 9, 2019 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Part of Events Series: Neighborhood Seminary
Saturday, April 6, 2019 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Part of Events Series: Neighborhood Seminary