Thursday, May 15, 2014

Professor Lischer gave the sermon.Duke Divinity School celebrated its 88th Baccalaureate service May 10 at 6:30 p.m. in Duke Chapel with Richard Lischer, James T. and Alice Mead Cleland Professor of Preaching at the school, delivering the sermon.

The next day, Duke University awarded more than 5,100 undergraduate, graduate, and professional degrees during its annual commencement ceremony in Wallace Wade Stadium. (See a video of the commencement.)

A total of 168 Duke Divinity School students were awarded degrees. The degrees were: Master of Arts in Christian Studies, 8; Master of Divinity, 121; Master of Theology, 12; Master of Theological Studies, 16; Doctor of Ministry, 9; and Doctor of Theology, 2.

During the 90-minute Divinity School Baccalaureate service, Lischer delivered the sermon, "Having This Ministry," based on a New Testament reading from 2 Corinthians 4:1-12. It explored the theme of death and new birth in ministry. The worship also included the traditional ritual of hooding for degree recipients.

The Divinity School also has announced the recipients of its 2014 awards to graduates.

Duke Divinity School seniors Mitchell James Kennard and Julie Nichole Newberry received the top GPA Award. Kennard also earned a Master of Theological Studies degree and Newberry a Master of Divinity degree.

Graduating students were congratulated by faculty members.In the other Divinity School awards, John David Badley and William Lester Glass received the Award for Excellence in Bible. Badley received his in Old Testament and Glass in New Testament.

Wesley Everett Spears was the recipient of the Richard P. Heitzenrater Award for Excellence in History, while Jennifer Zeller Potter received the Hoyt Hickman Award for Excellence in Liturgics.

Receiving the McMurry Richey Awards were: Ashley Michelle Douglas and John Bernard Stean for Outstanding Student in Field Education; Elizabeth Adams Murray for Outstanding Student in Missions; and the Class of 2014 Student Pastors for the Outstanding Student Pastor Award.

James Brock Meyer received the Jameson Jones Preaching Award, and Sarah Elizabeth Wilcox received the Seminarian Award of the Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts.

Baccalaureate Video