Monday, September 28, 2020 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm
Online (Livestream)
Nohemi Ramirez
(919) 660-3539

The annual Anglican Episcopal House of Studies (AEHS) Study Day at Duke Divinity School offers clergy, other ministry professionals, and students the chance to learn and reflect on a substantial topic relating to theology and ministry.

This event is free and open to all. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, this year's event will be livestreamed. 


This year's main speaker at the Virtual AEHS Day Study will be Ellen Davis, Ph.D., Amos Ragan Kearns Professor of Bible EllenAEHSand Practical Theology at Duke Divinity School. The author of eleven books and many articles, her research interests focus on how biblical interpretation bears on the life of faith communities and their response to urgent public issues, particularly the ecological crisis and interfaith relations. Her most recent books are Preaching the Luminous Word (Eerdmans, 2016), a collection of her sermons and essays, and Opening Israel’s Scriptures (Oxford, 2019), a comprehensive theological reading of the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament.

There also will be a panel discussion led by Davis with panelists Norman Wirzba, Ph.D., Gilbert T. Rowe Distinguished Professor of Christian Theology at Duke Divinity and a senior fellow at the Kenan Institute for Ethics at Duke University; Norbert Wilson, Ph.D., professor of Food, Economics, and Community at Duke Divinity; Ruth Valerio, Environmentalist and Theologian, Global Advocacy and Influencing Director for Tearfund, U.K.;  and Ryan Juskus, a Ph.D. candidate in the Christian Theological Studies track of the Graduate Program in Religion at Duke University.

Worship music will be provided by Charles Pettee and Wendy Shadburn, from the FolkPsalm band


Monday, September 28

12:00 p.m.    Keynote Address: “Covenant and Climate”

12:45 p.m     Musical Selection with Charles Pettee and Wendy Shadburn (FolkPsalm band)

1:00 p.m.      Live Panel Discussion

1:30 p.m.      Prayer Service with Charles Pettee and band, and homily by Ellen Davis.



Registration this year will be free.