Hauerwas Delivers Sermon for Closing Convocation

Printer-friendly version
Friday, April 19, 2013

Stanley Hauerwas, Gilbert T. Rowe Professor of Theological Ethics at Duke Divinity School, delivered the sermon (below and on YouTube) for the school's 87th Closing Convocation on April 18 in Goodson Chapel. The Service of Word and Table marks the end of the academic year and honors graduating seniors.

Dean Richard B. Hays, who served as presiding minister and celebrant, also announced the winners of student awards. Matthew Ford Price won the Richard P. Heitzenrater Award in History; Krystle Carlene Higgins and Lisa Marie Talbott won the Jameson Jones Preaching Award; the Hoyt Hickman Award for Excellence in Liturgics went to James Bryant Manning; Julie Nicole Newberry and Adam Lawrence Cieszkiewicz won the Award for Excellence in Bible; Colleen Allison Bookter, Amanda Louise Haines, Jeanne Kay Cross, and Eric Richard Schubert were all honored with McMurry Richey Awards; and the Seminarian Award of the Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts went to James Bryant Manning and Angelo Emmanuel Sanchez.