Graduating Student Award Recipients

Printer-friendly version
Thursday, May 10, 2012

Duke Divinity School has announced the recipients of its 2012 awards for upcoming graduates.

Erin Galgay Walsh received the Richard P. Heitzenrater Award for Excellence in History, which is being awarded for the first time this year.

Gloria Elsa Thomas received the Jameson Jones Preaching Award.

In the other Divinity School awards, Brendan Winfield-Sult Case and Joseph Francis Longarino were the recipients of the Award for Excellence in Bible.

Tyler Kent Williams was tapped for the Hoyt Hickman Award for Excellence in Liturgics.

Receiving the McMurry Richey Awards were: Sweeney Jamison Doehring IV and Miriam Ann Smith for Outstanding Students in Field Education; Bradley Charles Erickson for Outstanding Student in Missions; and Clifford W. Wall for Outstanding Student Pastor.

Stephanie Sarah Gehring and Sarah Stockton Howell received the Seminarian Award of the Fellowship of United Methodists in Music and Worship Arts.

The graduates earning the top Grade Point Average Award were Brendan Winfield-Sult Case and Erin Galgay Walsh, who both had a perfect 4.0 GPA and are each receiving a Master of Theological Studies degree.