Alumnus Receives Fulbright

Printer-friendly version
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Hans Arneson D’04 is among 14 Duke University students awarded a U.S. Fulbright scholarship for the 2010-11 academic year. He is studying theology and religion at Heidelberg University in Germany.

Arneson, who earned a master of theological studies degree from Duke Divinity School, is a doctoral student in New Testament in the Department of Religion at Duke University. Richard B. Hays, dean of the Divinity School and George Washington Ivey Professor of New Testament, serves as his doctoral supervisor.  

“I am very pleased to have been awarded a Fulbright, both for the opportunities it affords me with respect to my dissertation research and the cultural opportunities living in Germany offers,” Arneson said. “The New Testament faculty in Heidelberg is very strong, and engagement with them and with the research going on here will help me sharpen my own questions. It is also fantastic to be able to work on my German skills daily with native speakers, and to do so in such a beautiful setting.”

Arneson has been a visiting scholar at Notre Dame University and Durham University (UK). He holds a bachelor of arts degree from Augustana College in South Dakota, where he majored in philosophy, physics, and religion.

Two current Divinity School faculty members were named Fulbright scholars while studying religion at Duke: C. Kavin Rowe, assistant professor of New Testament, and David M. Moffitt, visiting assistant professor of New Testament.  

Rowe was a Ph.D. candidate at Duke when he received the Fulbright in 2002-03.  Like Arneson, he studied at Heidelberg University. During 2006-07, Moffitt studied at the Eberhard-Karls Universität Tübingen in Germany. He received a master of theology degree in New Testament studies from Duke Divinity School in 2003 and the Ph.D. in religion from Duke University in 2010.

Other Duke students awarded the Fulbright scholarship in theology and religion in the last decade are: T.J. Lang, 2009-10; Leroy Huizenga, 2004-05; Erin Yerby, 2003-04; and Peter Dula, 2001-02.

The Fulbright Program, established in 1946 by then-Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, is an international student exchange sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

View the full list of 2010-2011 Fulbright scholars from Duke »