News

from the Office of Black Church Studies

MLK Lectures March 31-April 1

The guest lecturer for 2015 will be James H. Cone.

Friday, February 27, 2015
2015 Sankofa Black Alumni Preaching Series

Every Tuesday in February, the Divinity School will celebrate the distinct contributions of the school’s alumni of African descent.

Thursday, January 29, 2015
Race, Incarceration and the Death Penalty

The Divinity School will host a public panel discussion Oct. 28 with two international advocates against the death penalty, including a Nobel Prize nominee.

Monday, October 6, 2014
2014 MLK Lecture with Randal Jelks

Jelks will give a talk on Benjamin Mays and Martin Luther King, Jr. on April 1, and will preach in Goodson Chapel.

Friday, March 21, 2014
Emilie Townes to Lecture

Townes, dean of Vanderbilt Divinity School, will speak on womanist theology on Feb. 24.

Friday, February 21, 2014
Resurrection Power and the Black Church

An interview with Eboni Marshall Turman, new director of the Office of Black Church Studies and assistant professor at the Divinity School.

Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Cooper Appointed to Faculty

The Divinity School names Valerie C. Cooper as the new associate professor of black church studies.

Friday, February 7, 2014
New Book on Black Church

Professor Eboni Marshall Turman explores roots of sexism in black churches.

Thursday, January 23, 2014
2013 Gardner C. Taylor Video Available

Sermons and a lecture by the Rev. Martha Simmons are now on video.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013
The Great Black Preachers

Duke Chapel posts archive of sermons showcasing the legacy of leading ministers. Read more on Duke Today.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013