Through a variety of seminars, programs, gatherings, lectures, and other offerings, the Divinity School seeks to help strengthen your faith and leadership by building your knowledge about the church and its practices. Also see our UMC Training & Programs.

Find the time to read, reflect, research, or just relax with Study Leave for Ministry Professionals. Over the span of five to seven days, participants can immerse themselves in learning and renewal through self-directed study, worship and prayer on the Duke University campus.
Convocation and Pastors' School
The annual Convocation & Pastors’ School is an intensive two-day conference that offers lectures, worship, and seminars for Christian leaders of all traditions. Led by scholars and practitioners from Duke and beyond, this event is a cooperative endeavor with the North Carolina and Western North Carolina Conferences of the United Methodist Church.
hispanic house graphic
Monday, May 1, 2017 (All day) to Wednesday, May 3, 2017 (All day)
At this retreat, pastors serving Hispanic/Latino communite immerse themselves into the heart of the "Good Shepherd" through praise, worship, and theological reflection.
rural church
Friday, May 13, 2016 - 1:00pm to Sunday, May 15, 2016 - 12:00pm
The Thriving Rural Communities Initiative at Duke Divinity School invites pastors and lay people to attend a weekend retreat at The Bladen Charge—Windsor UMC, Bethlehem UMC and Live Oak UMC—to experience their unique testimony of sustainability. Worship services, workshops and Sabbath time will resource and renew your ministry.
hands
Monday, April 11, 2016 (All day)
The annual Anglican Episcopal House of Studies (AEHS) Study Day offers clergy, other ministry professionals, and students the chance to learn and reflect on a substantial topic relating to theology and ministry.
caminantes
Through Caminantes, fellow sojourners encounter Christ while practicing and honing skills for ministry among Latinos. Caminantes for pastors meets periodically to practice and hone skills for ministry among Latinos, and there is also a group for students.
summer institute
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 3:00pm to Friday, June 8, 2018 - 9:00pm
Come expand your theological imagination, grapple with practical problems, and be equipped to continue a journey of reconciliation within a wider community at this annual institute.
Hispanic Preaching Festival
Developed by Duke Divinity School’s Hispanic House of Studies, the Hispanic-Latino/a (H/L) Preaching Initiative provides an opportunity for H/L pastors to receive homiletical training in a peer group format.

Upcoming Clergy/Laity Training & Programs Events

Monday, September 18, 2017 (All day) to Friday, September 22, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 2, 2017 (All day) to Friday, October 6, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 30, 2017 (All day) to Friday, November 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 6, 2017 - 8:00am to Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 3:00pm
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day) to Friday, November 17, 2017 (All day)
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 3:00pm to Friday, June 8, 2018 - 9:00pm